Am I Too Old For University?

I have been a University Student four times before.

1 – Just after high school and a TAFE Certificate course

2 – Had a break to work as a carer because I failed and freaked out.  Went back a year later, and kept going for two years, even though I was failing.  I kept getting good marks on assignments and failing exams and I didn’t know why, but I was determined to succeed “next semester”.  Eventually I had a complete breakdown and moved.

3 – I started again as an external student around the time Nicky was born.  This is also when I started to have pain again, and I couldn’t get disability services within the university to return a phone call, so I had to just leave.

4 – I did six good months in 2010/2011, then failed two semesters due to pain and illness.  Decided to have a break while I worked out what the hell was wrong with me.

This last one – number 4 – was great :).  I received two High Distinctions, one Distinction and one Credit.  I live with the Credit because that was the semester of the big floods.

There were no exams 😉

So now I know what is wrong with me, and now I know that my exam failures are a memory issue and not an “I’m stupid” issue, hopefully this time I’m actually going to achieve a Bachelor degree.

Besides – I’m sitting on my arse all day.  I may as well make myself useful.

There ARE going to be some issues.

Last time, my Aspergers took over and I had a little overkill with preparation and organisation and research.  I think I may be able to calm that down a little this time though, now I know what signs to look for.

I also ended up leaving because I just had too many bad days in a heap and I couldn’t get any more extensions etc…  I am going to have to come up with a plan to handle that this time.  Of course, last time, I hadn’t really been sick before – sore, but not sick – so this time I know to be prepared for it.

The good news is – this time I am studying for me.  Previously I have studied to show my mother I have a brain, and because I thought teaching would be a career someone with a disability like mine could handle (more flexibility to work around bad days, and working for the government means easier time asking for special considerations/access etc).

This time, I am studying what I want to study.  Sociology and Politics.  With a fair whack of Philosophy as well.

So… Am I now too old?  Nup *grin*

Can’t wait!!!!! 🙂

Disability consumer and activist. Pissed off since 1995... Mad as a hatter since way before that.

Tagged with:
Posted in Disability, Personal
2 comments on “Am I Too Old For University?
  1. Snowshoes4Zebra says:

    Good on you.

    As a fellow Zebra, I often think of going back just to keep my mind in shape…..considering my body is out of the question now days LOL. I like the idea of exercising my mind but in all honesty the thought of adding one more thing to my already bulging list of things to do/demands on my oh so limited time and energy near sends me into a blind panic.

    Good luck with it.

    • LOL… I think the only reason I don’t have a blind panic is that I’m just pretending it’ll work itself out when I get there ;-). No doubt I’ll have panic at some stage in the near future 🙂

Please feel free to comment...

Pissed off since 1995. Mad as a hatter since way before that.

Topics I Write About
Follow Linda Mad Hatter on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 618 other followers

SBS Insight – Psychopath

Watch Linda on SBS Insight (a bit part, and kinda embarrassing *grin*)

Autism Aspergers Magazine

Linda was a contributor for Autism Aspergers Network Magazine!

GoFundMe

We are raising money to cover the boys medical and disability expenses. ALL funds raised go into their own account, to pay for these expenses. Things such as speech therapy, occuptational therapy, psychology, chaperoned sport and social activities, and special equipment etc. I hate having to do this, but hey, if you don't like it, then give me a job ;-). Please click on the photo to go to their GoFundMe page, and thank you for your time (and I do hope, your generous donation *cheeky grin*)!!!

LindaMadHatter at FaceBook

Click the image and follow me on FB!

Photo's of our Aspie House life!
Lilly has found a comfy box... #CatsOfInstagram 🐾 After a couple of weeks with rain and sick kids, we are back at our usual haunt... #BeachNights #FamilyTime Maxie, I’m trying to BuJo here!!!
#Cats🐾
Versatile Blogger Award
Awesome Blossom Award
