A Space Of My Own

20130108-221516.jpg

When I was a little girl, I saw a picture of an old writing table. It had many little nooks and crannies, and it delighted me to think of all the little trinkets I could hide in such a table. In some ways, I am very much a girly girl. Ever since that time, I have wanted a table like that, and today, I had my first writing table delivered.

In such a small house as the one we live in, there is little room for a girl to have some space to call her own. Fortunately, our bedroom is slightly larger than our bed strictly requires, and so my new writing table has taken up residence there. I plan to put an old, comfortable lounge chair next to it, along with a floor lamp for ambience while I sit and read at night.

It was fortunate timing really. We have a great floor lamp in our lounge room, that I have draped a shawl over. It provides perfect ambience in the lounge area. The other night, I was contently reading the e-reader I scored for Christmas, when the husband walks in, turns on the television and sits down.

Yeah. I don’t think so!  Something needed to be done!!!

20130108-223025.jpg

Everyone needs a space to call their own I think. The husband has his office, and the kids have their bedroom and toy room. They all seem fairly content with these spaces. I guess the bedroom is really my space, however aside from some butterflies on the wall, I haven’t really made it my own yet, and thus I never really go in there except for sleep and to get changed. This table is a big step forward towards really having a space to call my own.

I can’t wait to add the finishing touches!!!

20130108-223743.jpg

Disability consumer and activist. Pissed off since 1995... Mad as a hatter since way before that.

Tagged with:
Posted in Mental Health, Personal
4 comments on “A Space Of My Own
  1. Loved your pics. They really pulled me in, and of course, the writing table story. I’m a writer, too, slow to get on to this media outlet, but trying!

  2. Totally agree that everyone needs a space of their own. I think mums too often forget to give themselves one too. Enjoy your writing desk!

Please feel free to comment...

Pissed off since 1995. Mad as a hatter since way before that.

Topics I Write About
Follow Linda Mad Hatter on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 618 other followers

SBS Insight – Psychopath

Watch Linda on SBS Insight (a bit part, and kinda embarrassing *grin*)

Autism Aspergers Magazine

Linda was a contributor for Autism Aspergers Network Magazine!

GoFundMe

We are raising money to cover the boys medical and disability expenses. ALL funds raised go into their own account, to pay for these expenses. Things such as speech therapy, occuptational therapy, psychology, chaperoned sport and social activities, and special equipment etc. I hate having to do this, but hey, if you don't like it, then give me a job ;-). Please click on the photo to go to their GoFundMe page, and thank you for your time (and I do hope, your generous donation *cheeky grin*)!!!

LindaMadHatter at FaceBook

Click the image and follow me on FB!

Photo's of our Aspie House life!
Lilly has found a comfy box... #CatsOfInstagram 🐾 After a couple of weeks with rain and sick kids, we are back at our usual haunt... #BeachNights #FamilyTime Maxie, I’m trying to BuJo here!!!
#Cats🐾
Versatile Blogger Award
Awesome Blossom Award
