Diary – 19th June 2013

The murder and subsequent legal proceedings in the case of Alex in the United States (child with Autism, mother couldn’t cope), has the ASD community all hyped up. Some want pity for the mother, others want her head on a stick. Personally I’m of the latter state of mind – being stressed is no excuse for first degree murder.

Some are calling for Alex’s murder to fall under hate crimes legislation however – a notion I find ludicrous. Alex was killed due to burden/care issues – not because the murderer has a thing against Autistics.

I also started thinking about hate crimes legislation in general and I really don’t believe it should exist. Now before you go getting your panties bunched up – I am a member of a few minority groups that benefit from hate crime legislation. I have had friends suffer from hate crimes. I consider myself lucky that bullying and discrimination have been as bad as it has come personally.

However for me it comes down to one simple thing…

How do you tell a parent that their child’s murder is not as severe as another child’s murder because of the killers personal beliefs?

How is it “worse” that a child (or anyone) is killed because they are racially different/gay/Autistic/etc rather than “just because” the killer likes killing???

Not to mention I have trouble with “how do you prove what is going on in someone’s head?” And should we even have a right to legislate against hate in the first place? That’s a whole big slippery slope!!!

I don’t like that some people hate me because I’m female or gay or Wiccan or Autistic or have a disability or have a mental illness or am in the lowest of social and financial demographics. If we take away their right to hate me because of those reasons however – how soon until I can’t hate them for being ignorant self obsessed twats? Laws like these assume that some opinions are criminal. Where do we draw the line? How do we stop it from becoming ridiculous??????

Killing someone because in your eyes they are not human is abhorrent. But killing someone for any reason is abhorrent.

Disability consumer and activist. Pissed off since 1995... Mad as a hatter since way before that.

Tagged with:
Posted in Personal

Please feel free to comment...

Pissed off since 1995. Mad as a hatter since way before that.

Topics I Write About
Follow Linda Mad Hatter on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 620 other followers

SBS Insight – Psychopath

Watch Linda on SBS Insight (a bit part, and kinda embarrassing *grin*)

Autism Aspergers Magazine

Linda was a contributor for Autism Aspergers Network Magazine!

GoFundMe

We are raising money to cover the boys medical and disability expenses. ALL funds raised go into their own account, to pay for these expenses. Things such as speech therapy, occuptational therapy, psychology, chaperoned sport and social activities, and special equipment etc. I hate having to do this, but hey, if you don't like it, then give me a job ;-). Please click on the photo to go to their GoFundMe page, and thank you for your time (and I do hope, your generous donation *cheeky grin*)!!!

LindaMadHatter at FaceBook

Click the image and follow me on FB!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Photo's of our Aspie House life!
You know it's cold when... you lose your chair two seconds after your bum leaves it... Maxie!  I'm trying to work here!!! Lilly was looking at the oven intently as it cooked the boys dinner...
BJ - Lilly, it's an oven, not a television...
Lilly - You watch what you want to watch, I'll watch what I want to watch!
Versatile Blogger Award
Awesome Blossom Award
