Diary – Bad Drug Reaction – 28th July 2013

Note:  I am writing this here for easy access for my medical professionals to read up on what is going on, and how I feel at the time in case it all gets hazy later on.  I’m OK!  I mean, I know I WILL be OK 🙂  I’ve been here before – twice in fact.

So, my psych and GP thought it would be a good idea for me to try an anti-depressant again.  My SUDS have been way too high for way too long, and we need to get them back down again so that I can start to work on stuff and be a functioning human being.  Thing is… I tend to have a bad time on psych drugs.  So we have tried something different.

I took one pill Friday night.  Within about an hour, I was as tired as I have ever been, which was great because I have been having trouble getting to sleep.

Saturday, I woke up about ten.  I was up for a few hours before crashing again.  While I was up, the world felt weird.  Everything was in slow motion.  Everything felt like it’s in a parallel universe that I could see, but not touch (and it still feels like that).  I slept on and off all afternoon, finally waking up (per se) about seven.  I was awake for about five hours.

In the morning, I had breakfast pretty much straight away (something else that has been difficult – usually it takes me about two hours to have breakfast because I feel nauseous when I first wake up).  I ate well during the day, considering how very little I was awake.

I didn’t have any pain medication all day yesterday, except for two lots of aspirin for my migraines.  I didn’t have any other medication at all.

Today, I woke up about nine, and stayed awake for about three hours.  I had breakfast very quickly again (within half an hour of getting up).  I had aspirin, but no pain meds.  Around midday, I went back to bed, and an hour later, I started to get restless legs.  It got unbelievably bad, so I had some pain meds.  About an hour later, it stopped, and I could get back to sleep again.  FYI – Restless legs is a sign of physical dependency on codeine – hence having some even though I wasn’t really in pain at that point.

I have just woken up (8pm), save for ten minutes here and there to break up an argument over Minecraft (lmao).

Needless to say – I am sleeping a LOT.

This whole time, I have also had the weird out of this world experience.  It is slowly getting better (I feel better now than I did this morning, and better this morning than I did yesterday), but still, I feel suicidal (again, less so now than yesterday, and I imagine, less so again tomorrow).  It’s like – part of my brain is saying “I want off, NOW”.  Not to fear – another part of my brain is saying “Grow a set princess, it’ll be over soon enough”.  I know it will pass, but fucking hell…  it really does feel like shit in the meantime.

I feel like I will never be normal again.  I feel like everything will be fuzzy forever.  I feel like there is no hope, like I’m broken, like I’m worthless as a human.  I feel like reaching through my eye sockets and tearing my brain out!  I feel like cutting – anything, anywhere.  I feel like dying is my only way out.  Which is weird, because two days ago, I was stressed (who wouldn’t be in my shoes!?!), but fine!

And god damn, it’s hard to keep my eyes open.

It’s also hard to walk – I’m walking around like I’m tipsy – 48 hours later.  Amazing what one little pill can do to your system.  I’ve stumbled into most of the house now – thankfully we live in a small house with not too many breakables!  It’s all good though – because I also can’t stand for more than about 30 seconds without feeling like I am going to throw up and/or just collapse where I am.

I feel nauseous most of the time.  Just a little when I first wake up, but more so after an hour or two.  I’ve been trying to eat what I can, when I can, and drink lots of water as much as I can.

My muscles feel weird too…  Like they are completely overloaded with lactic acid, even though I haven’t done anything but sleep!

OK, I think that is everything.

NIght 🙂

Thank goodness this should be over soon!!!  Ugh!

Disability consumer and activist. Pissed off since 1995... Mad as a hatter since way before that.

Tagged with:
Posted in Mental Health, Personal

Please feel free to comment...

Pissed off since 1995. Mad as a hatter since way before that.

Topics I Write About
Follow Linda Mad Hatter on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 618 other followers

SBS Insight – Psychopath

Watch Linda on SBS Insight (a bit part, and kinda embarrassing *grin*)

Autism Aspergers Magazine

Linda was a contributor for Autism Aspergers Network Magazine!

GoFundMe

We are raising money to cover the boys medical and disability expenses. ALL funds raised go into their own account, to pay for these expenses. Things such as speech therapy, occuptational therapy, psychology, chaperoned sport and social activities, and special equipment etc. I hate having to do this, but hey, if you don't like it, then give me a job ;-). Please click on the photo to go to their GoFundMe page, and thank you for your time (and I do hope, your generous donation *cheeky grin*)!!!

LindaMadHatter at FaceBook

Click the image and follow me on FB!

Photo's of our Aspie House life!
Lilly has found a comfy box... #CatsOfInstagram 🐾 After a couple of weeks with rain and sick kids, we are back at our usual haunt... #BeachNights #FamilyTime Maxie, I’m trying to BuJo here!!!
#Cats🐾
Versatile Blogger Award
Awesome Blossom Award
