Hope and Flight

I just wrote a post that I am particularly proud of…  SBS Insight is discussing the cutting of payments to low income earners (particularly FTB Part B, for parents).  I am talking about our situation and Cindy replied, including telling me to have a good weekend 🙂  This was my response to her, and others there as well…

 

Thanks Cindy Trying to have a good weekend! Every time I think all hope is lost, I come up with an idea. The idea never works out, but it always gives me something to focus on for a while, and it gets us through the next few weeks… It gives us hope that maybe soon things might get just a little bit better…

If you are earning an income, you have hope – hope for a payrise, hope for a better job next year, hope for a new boss if you don’t like your current one

I think it’s not the money so much that most of us care about – it is the lack of hope. Or at least, the beginning of the lack of hope. Respite is cut, so I don’t have anyone to look after the kids if I need it. State disability services say I’m eligible for 20 hours a week support, and I get none because there is no money. Public housing is fast becoming a myth. Health care has gap payments that make it out of reach, or two year waiting lists for important things, like finding out if you have MS (true story).

This government could have given us hope, but instead it chose to demonise us. It could have saved money without destroying hope, but it thinks that abuse and ridicule is the best way forward.

We need leaders – strong leaders. Leaders that will take us forward into a future that is completely uncertain sure, but can stand to impart a little hope along the way. Usually I’m the first to say that if you want something done, do it yourself, but I don’t think that is such a good idea in this case Maybe someone will step up soon. Maybe not. I do know one thing – stepping on people isn’t the way to get them to fly.

Disability consumer and activist. Pissed off since 1995... Mad as a hatter since way before that.

Tagged with:
Posted in Politics

Please feel free to comment...

Pissed off since 1995. Mad as a hatter since way before that.

Topics I Write About
Follow Linda Mad Hatter on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 620 other followers

SBS Insight – Psychopath

Watch Linda on SBS Insight (a bit part, and kinda embarrassing *grin*)

Autism Aspergers Magazine

Linda was a contributor for Autism Aspergers Network Magazine!

GoFundMe

We are raising money to cover the boys medical and disability expenses. ALL funds raised go into their own account, to pay for these expenses. Things such as speech therapy, occuptational therapy, psychology, chaperoned sport and social activities, and special equipment etc. I hate having to do this, but hey, if you don't like it, then give me a job ;-). Please click on the photo to go to their GoFundMe page, and thank you for your time (and I do hope, your generous donation *cheeky grin*)!!!

LindaMadHatter at FaceBook

Click the image and follow me on FB!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Photo's of our Aspie House life!
You know it's cold when... you lose your chair two seconds after your bum leaves it... Maxie!  I'm trying to work here!!! Lilly was looking at the oven intently as it cooked the boys dinner...
BJ - Lilly, it's an oven, not a television...
Lilly - You watch what you want to watch, I'll watch what I want to watch!
Versatile Blogger Award
Awesome Blossom Award
